• 01Jun

    The Auckland Festival of Photography 2017 | Janet Lilo

    Janet Lilo

    The Auckland Festival of Photography 2017 – The 7th Annual Commission

    1 June – 20 June

    Silo 6

    Waterfront Auckland





    Exhibition Details



    Public Programme

    Join Janet Lilo in conversation with Shahidul Alam, curator of this year’s theme, ‘Identity’. Sat 3 Jun 12pm Auckland Art Gallery, Auditorium, lower ground level.


    The Auckland Festival of Photography 2017 features the 7th Annual Commission, this year presented by Baker+Douglas. Each year, an Auckland-based artist is commissioned to create a new body of work for exhibition during the Festival. This year’s commissioned artist is Janet Lilo.



    In Radio New Zealand’s arts show, Standing Room Only (21 May 2017), Simon Morris is joined by one of the curators for the Auckland Festival of Photography 2017, Shahidul Alam and two photographers, Janet Lilo and Chris Corson-Scott. They discuss this year’s Identity theme; What is identity? How does is shape us and our work? …and why does is seem so important to talk about it these days? Find link here.



    Janet Lilo b.1982 (Ngapuhi, Samoan & Niuean) works in digital photography, video and installation. Her art practice explores experimental documentary and drawing processes for exhibition, performance and archive. She is interested in documentation as a conversational and social tool for recording time, people and place – often with reference to popular culture. Janet is an active member of Whau the People community arts collective, staunch supporter of the underdog and proud mother of Harry, Milo and Manaia.



    Recent projects include Status Update, Te Uru Gallery, 2016; The Normandy Research Project, Pacifiques in Normandy, France 2014 – 2015; Right of Way, Fifth Auckland Triennial at Artspace, 2013; Hit Me With Your Best Shot (commissioned by The Physics Room) for Christchurch and Wellington City Gallery. Lilo graduated from Auckland University of Technology with a Masters in Visual Arts, 2006.



    Other shortlisted artists this year were Edith Amituanai and Natalie Robertson.
    The selection panel included Julia Durkin, Festival Director; Associate Professor Linda Tyler, Director, Gus Fisher Gallery and Shahidul Alam, international art curator, director Chobi Mela International Photo Festival, member Asia-Pacific Photoforum.



    Previous Annual Commission Artists –

    2011 - Roberta Thornley

    2012 - James K Lowe

    2013 - Jennifer Mason

    2014 – Tanu Gago

    2015 – PJ Paterson

    2016 – Russ Flatt



    Opens 6:00pm on Thursday 1 June
    Hours 10:30 – 4:30 daily
    Where Silo Park Wynyard Qtr
    09 307 7055


  • Support Us


    Sign up for our newsletters to stay up to date with events and exhibitions. Our printed quarterly newsletter includes information about what’s been happening around the country, along with profiles on contemporary Pacific artists.

    Click here to subscribe >